100 Hours Project

Hej. Mitt namn är Fiona.

For years I put off signing up to Twitter. I failed to see the point. I had been through the Myspace phase and signed up to Facebook. I had even attempted blogging way back in 2006 to keep my friends up to date while I went travelling around the USA. What else did I need to stay in touch?

Then one day, early in 2011, for some reason, probably boredom, I bit that bullet and signed up. And there began what has turned into my most effective Personal Learning Network. Which is how I found this….

100 Hour Challenge

What relevance has this got to my current situation? Well, I have just one term left of teaching in the UK. Then I am off to my new school in Karlstad, Sweden. So I have to learn Swedish. I am going to make this my first 100 hour project. 100 hours of Swedish language starts here. More than that I am going to do it without buying a paper book, a CD, pens or paper. I am going to attempt to learn Swedish in the 21st Century learning style I wish my students to learn in. With Podcasts, audiobooks, PDFs and my Personal Learning Network.

My first hour today was taken up with searching iTunes for suitable Podcasts and I also found Free Swedish Resources. And of course there is the ever useful Google Translate to help with the complicated stuff, like all the documents my new school have sent me!

Today I have learnt how to introduce myself, say hello, goodbye, excuse me, please and thank you. I shall sort myself out with a decent microphone so that one day I might be able to upload some of my attempts at spoken Swedish and maybe my PLN will extend to some Swedish speakers who may help me out.

For now though, hour one is up. So I am off for a well earned cup of tea.

Hej. Mitt namn är Fiona. Jag förstår lite svenska. Tack för läsning. Hej då.

Leave a Reply

Teachers Across Borders

Lärare lär lärare. Teachers Across Borders jobbar med lärare i utvecklingsländer för att tillsammans utveckla undervisningen där.

ideas.ted.com

Explore ideas worth spreading

A year of reading the world

196 countries, countless stories...

James Kennedy

VCE Chemistry Teacher at Haileybury, Australia

Cosy Tea Blog

Tea, Cake and Knitted Tea Cosies!

Webs of Substance

"The reasoners are like spiders who make cobwebs out of their own substance" Francis Bacon. This blog is about educational research. The quote is appropriate. Views are my own and do not represent any organisation. Follow @websofsubstance

Educational Consultant: Humanity - Pedagogy - Technology

Digital maverick, revolutionary pedagogue educator, scientist, explorer and teacher of science through extreme sports. @natkin

Laura McInerney

Education Writer, Researcher & Policy Nerd.

Chocolate Brownies anyone?

Highs and lows of Teaching and a few cake recipes thrown in the mix!

Science on Stage 2015

The official Festival team blog for #SonS2015

wordpress tips

tips & advice on wordpress.com blogs

thInk

On art, science and the brain

Pragmatic Education

*Ideas are the currency of the 21st century*

What's language doing here?

What we need to know to move pupils from everyday to academic language

Gunnesbomatte

Av elever -för elever!

@TeacherToolkit

The Most Influential Blog on Education in the UK

johntomsett

"There is nothing either good or bad, but thinking makes it so."

Worldwide International School Day

Friday 9th November 2012

